Why OpenGL

Hi Guys,

I must admit that I am very new to OpenGL. But I have been doing C++ and a bit of Flash.

Hope you guys can share with me why people are still using GLUT/GLUI/FreeGLUT, despite it has not been updated for so many years?

So why do you like OpenGL?

Im open to hear your point of view

to be honest, we use glut because it’s ubiquitous, but we aren’t in love with it. the fact that it’s around everywhere, means that people really understand it, there are plenty of books and the bugs/quirks are really well known. also it’s pretty easy to use / get your head around the api. the difficulty of using another windowing toolkit is, either

(a) picking one that has a huge API like (ogre, irrlicht, sdl, etc)
(b) lesser known (or less documented) like glfw, cpw
© picking one that isn’t oriented completely around graphics like wxwindows

the downsides (a,b,c) for us outweight the plusses, but we have plans to abstract a bit of the glut stuff in the OF code so that windowing toolkits could be swapped. several folks are working on that (getting OF on top of SDL) right now, so it may be that soon you can have more choices. For beginners glut is really good because there is alot of glut code around to plug in and get up and running. also, if you want to hack the OF code, it’s pretty easy to find the info about the glut calls that are being made.

This is part of the decision making process we’ve been in : support the beginner, even if that means some non-optimal techniques or libs. for example, we treat all images are RGB in every CPU, even though in reality on intel chips it’s BGR. This was a decision to make it easier to hack code and not have to worry about what platform the code is running on. Obviously non-optimal, but super helpful for beginners.

at some point soon, we might start branches for experimental versions of OF, like OF on top of different windowing platforms, OF super optimized, etc.