Where to declare a new object with parameters?

I’m a C++ beginner so I apologize for the probably trivial question. I’ve tried searching around but I suspect I’m not using quite the right terms so I’m hoping someone here can correct my thinking.

As I’ve been learning OpenFrameworks and making quick little sketches, I’ve been lazy and just put all of my class definitions and global variables at the top of my “ofApp.cpp” file. However as an exercise in writing cleaner code and separating classes out into individual files I tried to move my “Ball” class into a separate file. The lazy way I did it before had the methods and constructor function code inside of the Class definition. So the top of my ofApp.cpp file looked like this.

class Ball {
public:

ofVec2f pos;
    ofVec2f speed;

void update(){
         pos = pos + speed;

if (pos.x > ofGetWidth() || pos.x < 0) {
             speed.x *= -1;
         }
         if (pos.y > ofGetHeight() || pos.y < 0) {
             speed.y *= -1;
         }

ofDrawCircle(pos.x, pos.y, 20);

}

Ball(float posx_, float posy_, float speedx_, float speedy_){

pos.set(posx_, posy_);
        speed.set(speedx_, speedy_);
    }
};

Ball ball(10, 10, 2, 3);

Then

void ofApp::draw(){
ball.update();
}

This is how I’ve been doing things, and while it works I understand it’s not best practice. So I created a “Ball.cpp” and “Ball.h” file and attempted to copy the code over.

Inside of “Ball.h” I have:

#ifndef Ball_hpp
#define Ball_hpp
#include <ofMain.h>

class Ball {
public:

ofVec2f pos;
    ofVec2f speed;

void update();

Ball(float posx_, float posy_, float speedx_, float speedy_){
        pos.set(posx_, posy_);
    }
};

#endif /* Ball_hpp */

Inside of “Ball.cpp” I have:

#include "Ball.h"

void Ball::update(){
    pos = pos + speed;
    if (pos.x > ofGetWidth() || pos.x < 0) {
        speed.x *= -1;
    }
    if (pos.y > ofGetHeight() || pos.y < 0) {
        speed.y *= -1;
    }

ofDrawCircle(pos.x, pos.y, 20);
}