When are pointers needed in oF and why?

Hello!

I’ve been learning c++ on and off for the past two years. I’m finally feeling like I’m getting a hang of the pointer syntax, but I still don’t understand why they seem to be required in certain cases, specifically in oF.

Making a vector of ofxDSHapPlayer , pushing individually defined ofxDSHapPlayer in and then trying to update them with a for loop caused an error, and the creator of that plugin said that was something they’d encountered before and to try doing it with pointers, which worked.

Likewise, when I tried to make a vector of ofFmodSoundPlayer to play multiple sounds at once, none of them or only the most recently loaded one would play. Again, I had to make an std::vector<ofFmodSoundPlayer*> to get it working.

Now, I would’ve thought that if you define an object and push it into a vector, it continues to exist and be accessible in memory via the vector, but unless you use pointers, it seems like the objects get lost or overridden by subsequent definitions.

Is this a c++ thing or a something specific to oF or to the addons in question? How can I know when to use pointers? I remember that ofxBox2d explicitly shows you to use pointers in the examples, but this is not the case for all addons.

one thing to think about is that c++ is generally pass by copy – when you call a function, such as
push_back(…) to a vector, the thing you pass in is copied. For core OF objects, we generally handle this well, so you can do the following,

ofImage blah;
blah.load(...);
myImages.push_back(blah);