What is the best way to set ROI (region of interest) with OF

I’m doing blob tracking and image processing (with various filters), but would like to have the ability to change the ROI.

I’ve tried setting the ROI once the source image (camera/video) is recieved but that creates mismatched ‘size’ runtime errors/problems when I try to do more down the filter chain.

I’m still new to openCV; what is the best way to set ROI so that I can take an input source (video/camera) and select a portion of the image to filter and then track blobs on? Would I need to reallocate all images everything the ROI is changed since I originally allocate all my images (ofxGrayscaleImages, etc) to full source height/width on loading the application or should I set the first ROI and then getROI/setROI for all other images I use?

Thanks!

There is no reason why this wouldn’t work. Make sure you unset your ROI as well.

Also just capture your video at full size, and make a copy and do ROI on that.

grayBinaryImage = //your binary blobs image  
cvSetImageROI(grayBinaryImage, cvRect(x, y, w, h));  
contourFinder.. // find contours in grayBinaryImage   
cvResetImageROI(grayBinaryImage);  

I’ve done this a number of times. Dont forget that the blobs will be shifted by the ROI offset, so if the ROI starts at x = 100, a blob that normally is in position 150 x is now in position 50, so you need to add the roi x of 100 to a blobs x position to make it normal again. Does that make sense?

There are other ways of masking areas so that you only track blobs in the places you expect them.

1. set ROI, but only on your calculated images not your video grabber

2. use a quad to select area and then warp this area
    http://csugrue.com/code/?p=7

3. use a rectangle region and use cvCopy to copy out just that area into another image

4. create a polygon mask over an image, useful when your area has funny shaped areas you need to block out. also you can mask one image with another