Video Tracking with Audio Triggers

I just started playing with a new project that will take a video feed and track animal movement (IE probably mice) and apply their movements to a grid of audio triggers.

For instance, the grid section A1 would represent middle C on a piano while grid section C3 would represent an E chord on a guitar. Based within the probably 100x100 pixel grid section, I’d like to apply volume as an x-variable and note length as the y-variable.

From there I would just let the program run and sit back while these mice/fireflies/ants make music for me.

I’ve only done a few projects with the OF libraries, but I think I should be able to do this without too much complication with a time frame of a couple weeks.

The question I’m asking, I suppose, is whether I’m jumping in the proverbial deep end here for someone who has just started working with C++ a month ago.

Any thoughts or tips are always welcome!

hi nabontra

i would recommend you to :

• install the opencv addon for openframeworks
  • grab a frame from the “animals” and :
  • with the findContours function you would be able to track an “animal” moving arround the scene .
  • inside the values returned/calculated by findContours includes the bounding box of the tracked object … if u get the center of the bounding box you’ve an indicator of the animals position …

with the opencv addonn you’ve a fantastic example where you’ll find all this …

• so now u just need to divide your camera frame in a matrix of boxes and depending on the position of the bounding boxes … make diferent music :wink:

e*

Dang, thanks eloi!

Thats a lot simpler than what I was planning, after seeing the openCV libraries.

I didn’t have a webcam so I just hooked up my panasonic GS-320 which has a webcam feature. Its only 6fps and 320x240 QVGA, but i kept getting errors that said 320x240 was not supported.

I was, however, able to see the blob tracking in the demo src provided, just not all the different versions.