Very simple attempt to use opencv class fails to build

Hello all,

My first post so please excuse faux pas, omissions etc.

I am totally new to all this and am most likely attempting something way beyond my skill level, but to be honest everything is beyond my understanding. Here goes …

I have tried to make a very simple app that uses the opencv classes such as ‘VideoCapture’ and upon attempting to build I get the following failure message:

Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
“cv::VideoCapture::~VideoCapture()”, referenced from:
ofApp::~ofApp() in ofApp.o
“cv::imshow(cv::String const&, cv::_InputArray const&)”, referenced from:
ofApp::draw() in ofApp.o
“cv::waitKey(int)”, referenced from:
ofApp::draw() in ofApp.o
“cv::VideoCapture::read(cv::_OutputArray const&)”, referenced from:
ofApp::update() in ofApp.o
“cv::VideoCapture::isOpened() const”, referenced from:
ofApp::setup() in ofApp.o
“cv::VideoCapture::open(int)”, referenced from:
ofApp::setup() in ofApp.o
“cv::VideoCapture::VideoCapture()”, referenced from:
ofApp::ofApp() in main.o
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)

I note there are other topics on very similar subjects but my attempts to follow the advice therein have been fruitless.

I am using xcode 9.2, and openframeworks v0.10.1.

Any help would be much appreciated. No doubt I need to give more information … please let me know.

Many thanks
Dan

Hello Dan, does the example examples/computer_vision/opencvExample works for you?

Hi David,
thanks for your response.
yes it does.
Dan

To make things easier, I would probably use the opencv addon that comes with openFrameworks, or the ofxCv one https://github.com/kylemcdonald/ofxCv. Have a look at the examples that come with tofxCv, there are a lot of them that use the camera and maybe some of those fit your needs.

Thank you. I have been making good progress with ofxCv, and will look more closely at tofxCv.