Using SVG shapes into ofxBox2d world

hello,

I am playing with ofxSVG and ofxBox2d and try to mix the use of both in an example app

I would like to create a wireframe world in SVG format and use the shapes as edge lines in an Box2d world.
Say i draw a rectangle with inkscape and save it as wire.svg

I would like to read it in my app and use this shape as an edgeline that interacts with emitted box2d circles.

I am quite new to using these two addons and i have some hard time understanding how ofPath and ofPolyline works.

I understand i must grab the shape from the svg and add its vertices to my box2d edgeline shape and make it interact with generated shapes. But i am lost translating it code wise.

Any help appreciated

thanks a lot

Hi Gallo,

You can grab the outlines from a path like so:

vector<ofPolyline>& polylines = mypath.getOutline();
for( int i = 0; i < polylines.size(); i++) {
   vector< ofPoint >& poly_verts = polylines[i].getVertices();
   for( int j = 0; j < poly_verts.size(); j++ ) {
      ofPoint vert = poly_verts[j];
      // add the vert to the box 2d shape //
   }
}

thanks a lot Nick.

this is helpful. but i still don’t understand how you define a shape !

Why do i have to grab every point of a shape ? it seems possible to grab every distinct shape at once

say i have a square in svg file. I would like to grab its contour.

is it a path ? a polyline ? a vector of polyline ? a vector of points ? anything else ?

I believe ofxSVG will grab the contour of the square as an ofPath. An ofPath is composed of a vector ofPolylines that can be obtained by using getOutline on the ofPath. A polyline is composed of a vector of ofPoints.
I think ofxSVG will store all of the contours it finds as paths.
So I believe each ofPath in ofxSvg would be a unique shape in the svg file. ofxSVG does not keep association between layer names and shapes.

so you could do something like the following to grab all of the points from the svg file: