Using SDKs with openFrameworks

It’s a little frustrating: there’s never any mid-level support and tutorials for programming online — just simple beginner stuff and complex solutions to the individual problems seasoned programmers face.

OpenFrameworks is my first foray into C++ (I’m self-taught, and besides oF have only ever programmed in Python and Javascript), so I’m not sure how C++ applications generally work outside of what’s been prescribed through oF.

How might I go about using an SDK in my apps, for example the one for the Oculus Rift
or for the Parrot AR Drone? (I’m aware these both have ofxaddons, but I’d love to access things not fully addressed with those addons, and know how to create my own addons.) I know that’s a huge question, but some direction would be super helpful.

A little more broadly, how do all of the parts of openFrameworks and c++ link together, how does Xcode handle that, and how do you extend what’s already there?

Usually the way it works is the following :

You get an SDK (oculus, kinect, whatever), that comes with basic samples. Those samples are usually source code that you can be build into a standalone program (a lot like oF examples). If you’re lucky, the sdk will come with project files for the sample and it’s a breeze to open it in Xcode. If you’re unlucky you’ll have to set up the project yourself, and then build the sample.

When you get the sample compiling, you start looking at what they do, how they do it, and try to get a grasp of how the stuff works (you can also read the documentation that goes with the sdk, a forum if there’s one, etc.)