Using a 2d array to draw specific pixels

I’m coming from processing, so I’m new to most of the syntax. I’ve got a couple of questions for a project I’m working on:

First, what’s the syntax for making a 2d array with float values? E.g, in processing, the syntax is float[][] var_name = new float[width][height].

Second, how do I manipulate specific pixels on the screen? Preferably by not making 1x1 rects. Again, in processing, there’s the pixel array, and you can just write pixels[index] = color(r, g, b).

Ultimately, I’m trying to have a 2d array that constantly updates the screen by drawing to specific pixels, which are colored to the values of the specific point in the map. So, the pixel for 300,300 would have the value of the 2d array at [300][300].

Any help is appreciated greatly. Thanks!

Hey @KingstownBar , I’m glad you’re giving oF a try! C++ can be a bit challenging to learn so try to hang in there. Unlike Java, there isn’t any garbage collection, so the language has more focus on managing memory and types.

You can create a 2D array of floats on the stack with float myArray[][]. C++ has containers, like std::vector<>, that can be used in place of an array. Good places to learn more about oF and C++ is ofBook, or by studying the projects in the /examples folder, or by searching the forum for related threads.

oF has an ofPixels object. This is a cpu-side representation of an image. It also has an ofImage, which combines an ofPixels and an ofTexture (the gpu-side of the image). Both ofPixels and ofImage have a .setColor() method where you set the color of an individual pixel:

// add this to ofApp.h in an empty project

ofImage image;

// in ofApp.cpp:

void ofApp::setup(){
    // allocate some memory for an image
    image.allocate(300, 300, OF_IMAGE_COLOR); // RGB
    // loop thru and set a random color for each pixel
    for(int y = 0; y < image.getHeight(); ++y){
        for(int x = 0; x < image.getWidth(); ++x){
            float r = ofRandom(255.f);