Update a compiled app, load additional content

Hy everybody !

i come from the Flash/AS3 world and there is something i don’t understand in OF/C++.

How can i publish an app and, after, add content ?
Example : a game which is able to load a new pack of levels

In AS3, a app can load a SWF (executable) and run it or load content in as a library.

Thanks for help :smile:

I’m new to oF, but in almost any(all?) language you can load dll’s.

Right, but DLL is a Windows solution, i’m looking for a crossplatform solution. Maybe it is simple but i don’t find the best way.

POCO, which is a core component of openFrameworks, has some nice cross-platform capabilities for loading dynamic libs. You might check out this for more:

Just note, that we don’t have first class support for compiling this in the openFrameworks core, so you’ll likely need to figure out your own method for compiling your additional levels into compatible shared libs.

You could get around having to link a precompiled content blob by building your app in such a way that it would dynamically load non-compiled content via a combination of XML/YAML/JSON config files, perhaps an external scripting library like Lua or Python, and whatever other multi-media files you need. You could then package this up into a compressed format if you need more portability.

[edit: links]

as a side note, I’ve recently been using VAMP - http://vamp-plugins.org/ a cross platform system for testing audio analysis engines and writing analysis in a standardized way. all vamp plugins are compiled as dynamic libraries (per platform, as DLLs, Dylibs, SOs) and it loads them. It works surprisingly well and was curious about what it would take to get something like that working in OF. Their code is fairly straight forward and I was able to get a plugin host (that could load dylibs) working in OF pretty quickly. Might be interesting for anyone looking at dylib approaches.

1 Like