Universal Multitouch Wall using Microsoft SDK, openFrameworks and ofxKinectNui

Hello!
As suggested by roymacdonald, this is the collected info in this thread about my method used to turn Kinect depth information into useful blobs that can be turned into a multitouch interface. The original comment can be found at the end of this one. Also, any personal comment I make about this method may be biased since I’ve had little experience with other people’s methods. Part of the info has also been edited since it was reviewed for errors.
This is also the first time I share code that seems useful so I went out of my way to do it, many thanks to patriciogonzalezvivo, roymacdonald, lahiru and of course kylemcdonald!

Info about the method
This method seems (?) to be simplest and also might be the shortest while still being precise. It also doesn’t use auto calibration and expects the user to determine the projection area (which might explain how short it is). This might actually help the method and make it useful on irregular surfaces. We also handled the depth images as if it were 8 bpc when it actually is 11 bpc, this might truncate data but still works very nicely. For those who don’t know, 8 bpc would give me a 255 grey palette (2^8) and a 11 bpc would a 2048 (2^11), and here the grey value defines the depth of floating point that the kinect is interpreting, so more bpc equates to more depth resolution.
We used Microsofts Kinect for Windows SDK 1.0, openFrameworks 007 with ofxOpenCv and ofxKinectNui ( https://github.com/sadmb/ofxKinectNui ) but I’m guessing ofxOpenNI should work just the same while being multi-platform, the important thing is that to start off you need to somehow get the kinect depth image.
This method was made in order to be used on a multitouch wall so the asumption is that users extends their hands, so the position of touch is expected to be the tip of the fingers which would be on one side of the bounding box of the blob.

Pseudocode