[Ubuntu/Codeblocks] getting examples to work

Hello everyone,

I’m totally new to oF and C++ in general. I’ve compiled oF using the ‘stable’ branch on Github and also the projectGenerator. Also I have been able to install Codeblocks.
First thing I did was creating a test-project using the projectGenerator and everything seems to be in place: addons.make, config.make, Makefile, test.cbp, test.workspace. After opening the project in Codeblocks I compiled my test-app and it worked. Fine so far.
Now I’d like to try one of the examples in the ‘examples’ folder. However, though there are source-files I couldn’t find any .cbp files as well as no Makefile, config.make and addon.make.
How is this supposed to be handled using Codeblocks under Linux? From some screenshots made under OSX I could see there XCode-project filles that should make it easy to open a certain project in XCode. Am I supposed to create the project-files resp. Makefile, addon.make and config.make manually? Or is there some trick that does that for me?

Thanks any hint in advance,

Stefan

Hey Stefan,

It doesn’t look like any of the project files for the examples are included in the git repository. They are however in the tarball on the downloads page (http://openframeworks.cc/download/) so if you just want to get them up and running, you could use that instead.

simply use the project generator to create all the files needed for codeblocks and makefiles…as you create a testApp .

Ah! Thanks very much for that hint! Indeed, the missing files were included in the tarball and I have been able to compile the example that I wanted to try out. Cool!