Tutorial for unit testing OF projects in Xcode

I just wrote a short guide on how to set up Xcode to test OF projects using Catch. Although I wrote it as a reminder to myself, I thought it might be useful to others. Suggestions are welcome.

1 Like

A few of us (e.g. @theDANtheMAN, etc) have been talking about unit testing for some time. I landed on google test for my last project – but the simplicity of Catch is attractive. How did you decide on Catch and how do you think it compares to all of the other unit testing options …

Basically, I’m trying to figure out if this would be a good package to use for unitesting for all of OF :smile:

To be honest, because it’s the only c++ unit testing framework I’ve managed to run (and undesrtand) :smile:

I’ve been looking for unit testing frameworks for a while. I’m not a professional coder (just an artist coder) and most of them seemed quite obscure to me. I tried using cppUnit, google test, MiniCppUnit, … to no avail. Catch helped me understand how unit testing works with C++ and now I may be able to use the others. But I like Catch’s simplicity, and the tutorials and documentation are quite clear to me. So I think I’ll stick with it for a while. I don’t think I’ll need anything fancier anytime soon.

Basically, I’m trying to figure out if this would be a good package to use for unitesting for all of OF

I’m sorry I cannot provide you with technical specificities and/or advantages of this framework over the others. But I’ll be happy to know if there’s a better one or not!