Trouble with dylib's

EDIT : (rewriting the question)

I am linking a dylib into an XCode project.
I’m just using the default settings from Project Generator

When the application starts, it crashes out:

I’m wondering what the best way is to get this working?
I’m aiming for the addon to have project generator compatibility

I’ve tried:

1. Manually copying in the dylib files into a number of locations inside the app package
  2. Adding the dylib files to ‘Embedded Binaries’

I’m not very experienced with oF+XCode recently, so any hints are welcome.

Thank you

I got a little hint from https://www.chilkatsoft.com/chilkatMacOSX.asp

I changed the install name with the command

install_name_tool -id “@loader_path/libceres.2.0.0.dylib” libceres.2.0.0.dylib

and copied the dylib into the Contents/MacOS folder of the application bundle manually. That seems to work. Searching for a cleaner option…

i did the same as elliot by adding a build phase in xcode.

cp $OF_PATH/addons/ofxNDI/libs/libndi/lib/osx/libndi.dylib $TARGET_BUILD_DIR/$PRODUCT_NAME.app/Contents/MacOS/
cd $TARGET_BUILD_DIR/$PRODUCT_NAME.app/Contents/MacOS/
install_name_tool -change @rpath/libndi.3.dylib @executable_path/libndi.3.dylib $PRODUCT_NAME

When you compile a lib for OSX you can set the path for the app to look for the lib, it can be @executable_path, @loader_path, or @rpath. The install name change tool will take care of discrepancies, but if you would prefer a path that is friendly to the project generator you would have to recompile the lib.

Some info: https://wincent.com/wiki/@executable_path,@load_path_and@rpath

Ha. I was dealing with this same thing, although I’ve been looking on how to make this process automagically without need for changing any setting in xcode