The Philosophy of Add-Ons - greenhorn questions

Hi, everyone.

I’m new to oF, and I always begin with a new system by trying to understand the underlying design philosophy - what does it want to accomplish, how does it work toward that goal, and why does it do things the way it does? So please take the following questions not as criticism, but as honest curiosity from one who considers “Why?” one of the best questions you can ask when confronting something new.

Is there a particular reason why OSC and MIDI are not part of the core framework? Or why any of the add-ons in the FAT distribution aren’t? They all seem like pretty basic and essential tools for creative A/V work. What’s the philosophical line between add-ons and the core framework?

Is the core oF framework considered more or less “feature complete” at this point? Or is it more of a process of likely candidates for the core starting out as add-ons in the FAT distro and getting promoted later?

Is there interest in expanding the audio capabilities of the core framework? I know there are some synthesis libraries already implemented as add-ons (STK, SndObj, Maximilian). If I had to nominate just one I’d propose STK because the large number of pre-assembled physical-modeling instruments it includes makes for a rich and inspiring palette. Something you can get right down to work with…which seems very much in the oF spirit.