(Thanks OF) Sunburn! new OpenFrameworks game available in App Store

Hey OF community! I’ve been using OF for a couple years and I wanted to mention that I’ve just released a game on the Apple App Store for iPhone/iPad that I made using OpenFrameworks + iOS. We’re featured on the “Best New Games” section right now, so to anyone who thinks you can’t get there without Unity or Objective-C, think again!

I worked with two of my friends on the game and I wrote a lot of the code. I wanted to make a post here to sort of show that, yeah, it’s totally possible to use OF to ship a game. Actually, I learned how to code C++ to make this very game. I had no idea what I was doing, at first. (I really mean that. I had no idea how to use pointers or make a header file.)

I was able to make contributions back to the OF library while working on Sunburn! and that made me really proud. Hopefully some of you can check it out and it’ll inspire you to make your own awesome something with OF :smiley:

Oh and by the way I’m using addons by two other awesome NYC indie devs, Andy Wallace & Zach Gage.

Here’s some snippets of reviews and a link to a press roundup:
◇ Gamezebo: “4.5/5 Far from iterating, Secret Crush has created a new genre standard.”
◇ 148apps: "4.5/5 “One of the weirdest and best platforming experiences to be had on iOS…A complete delight.”
◇ Kaijupop: “3/4 Pops: Exceptional. A significant cut above the crowd.”
◇ TouchArcade: “4/5 Well worth checking out.”

The GIF below links to the App Store page. You can also check out the trailer and website.

9 Likes

Looks nice, congrats !
Did you meet any particular difficulties with the whole process of making a mobile game with OF ?

Looks great, I’ll try it out! :smile:

Working with iOS is really the hardest part. You’re adding a layer of abstraction and there’s more code that can break or make your life difficult. Upgrading the project to support iOS 8 was anxiety inducing. You end up needing to know a bit of Objective-C to debug.