Testing performance comparisons between OF and Three.js

I’m currently testing the pros and cons of using Three.js for a project where I would normally use openFrameworks, paying particularly close to performance and reliability over time (how long the app will run w/out crashing). I am using NW.js (Node-Webkit) to bundle the HTML/CSS/JavaScript into a desktop application. My initial results are surprising, as it seems that my openFrameworks version seems to be running at about half of the frame rate of the JavaScript version.

OpenFrameworks

JavaScript

The openFrameworks version maintains a steady 16 fps while the JavaScript version fluctuates between about 40-60 fps. The openFrameworks version looks perhaps a bit more crisp and the consistently of the slow frame rate keeps the sketch looking smooth (the JavaScript version is a bit jumpy). Below are links to both sets of code, if anyone would like to review what is actually going on. I’m not an efficiency expert, but the openFrameworks code is fairly optimized to my knowledge (I am purposefully avoiding the use of shaders).