TCP delimiter problem

Hi All

I’m trying to send a packet of data over localhost using TCP. This will eventually between 2 PCs over ethernet. I can send a single value without a problem. As soon as I try to send multiple values (currently mouseX and mouseY) in a single string using a delimiter I run into a problem. It seems that only one of these 2 values is received by the server per frame. So rather that getting X and Y every frame, the server receives X one frame and Y the next. This causes a delay of x2.

I tried the networkTCP examples that come with OF and I get the same results Every time ENTER is pressed and a delimiter is added the amount of delay on the server is increased by a multiple of one.

This is my first experience using TCP and I’m pretty new to networking so perhaps this is how it is supposed to work. If so, what is the best way to send multiple values in a single packet?

Thanks in advance.

James

I think I’m misunderstanding, but it almost sounds like you’re using the delimiter to separate the X and Y values? If you’re just sending multiple values in a single message with a character to separate values, i.e. “X=202:Y=281”, which turns into “[TCP]X=202:Y=281[/TCP]”, then that seems like something is wrong. If that’s the case, maybe you could post a little bit of code?

the problem with tcp is that is not message oriented but stream oriented. you can send a message with something but when you read a package in the other side it doesn’t necesarily has to have the complete message. That’s why you use delimiters, each time you read keep reading till you get the delimiter.

That’s taken care of by OF if you use send() and receive() by adding [/TCP] in send and reading till it gets that delimiter in receive so unless you are using sendRaw or receiveRaw, i don’t know what can be going wrong. can you post some code?

Thanks for getting back. I’m sending a message formatted like this “mouseX=123**mouseY=456”