Tcp binary data to image

Hello friends :slight_smile:
i’m a beginner for using OF
i had a problem that:get a char* from tcpClient.receiveRawMsg();this message contain a image buffer.Now i want draw it in screen.How can i do it ?
Thank for your answer

If the char* buffer is the right size and format you expect, you can load it straight into a texture-

someTexture.loadData( (unsigned char*) buffer, 320, 240, GL_RGB ); // expects 320*240 rgb image  

If you don’t know the format and size, eg. image was compressed before sent, you can use an ofBuffer and ofLoadImage-

ofBuffer videoBuffer(buffer, numBytes); // match numBytes you put into receiveRawBytes(char * receiveBuffer, int numByte)  
ofLoadImage(someTexture, videoBuffer);  

Of course both these methods assume the buffer contains the whole image. If the buffer is coming through in parts of the image, you just need a while loop which calls receiveRawBytes() until you have enough bytes for the whole image.

Hey!

Are there any updates on this communication? I would like to do something similar…

The general idea is to use a ofxTCPServer (TCPraw) to receive an array of images of various (unknown) sizes, which are sent from a TCPclient in a Unix machine.

So I am cutting the task in smaller steps, and at first I would like to transmit and view one (small) image in (ofTexture) testTexture with known size of 1224bytes. That is why, in my update function I have :

for (int i = 0; i < TCPraw.getLastID(); i++) {       
   if( TCPraw.isClientConnected(i) ) { 
        char receiveBytes;
        int numBytes; 

int received = 0;
        ofBuffer buffer;
        while (received != 1224) {
            int tempNum = TCPraw.receiveRawBytes(i, (char *) &receiveBytes, 1224);
            ofBuffer buffer(&receiveBytes, 1224);
            if (tempNum > 0) {
                received += tempNum;
                printf("RAW Bytes received from client: %d\n\n", received);
                if (received == 1224) {