Taking to much time compiling

Hi there.
I’m new to openFramework and i’m not sure if its normal for my project taking around 20 seconds to compile. It seems way to much time, sometime I just want to change something small like a color or something and just have to stare at the screen for a while until its done.
When I build it in the terminal it seems that a lot of what it’s doing could be precompiled or something.

Edit:
I’m with a 2012 13’’ MacBook Pro running macOS 10.14.

In what platform?

I’m with a 2012 13’’ MacBook Pro running macOS 10.14.

What version of Xcode? what version of OF ?
if you go to project settings, what does it say?

I’m using Xcode 10.2.1.

Build times have seemed normal to me in xcode. Not to be annoying by stating the obvious, but of course it depends on what the project is like, and how its files are organized. If there is a lot of code which does for example #include “ofApp.h”, and the value you’re editing is in that file, then of course everything including that gets rebuilt.

It would be very nice if there was an article showing what leads to faster compilation, with code examples and corresponding compilation times (some things have an effect, other things maybe not so much). And maybe approaches to reduce waiting times (build GUIs to be able to change things without recompilation, reloadable config files, etc). Maybe we have figured out different tricks, but I haven’t found a post about it.

Yes, more writing about how some things can be done would be good. Especially as some APIs still lack much documentation. There is a really nice intro video series being posted on YouTube with links on r/openframeworks and here, though that’s not quite the same thing.

As for compilation times, there might be some OF-specific things to say about that, but I think in general it’s going to be the same issues and techniques with any C++ project, which is mainly about how you break your project up into files and what files you #include.

So: