Suggestion for improvement: ofxThread.cpp

Hi there!

I’m pretty new to C++ and the openFrameworks project and to deepen my knowledge I just read the ofxThread.cpp file in of_preRelease_v0.05_xcode_FAT/addons/ofxThread/src.
Now I wonder if the constructor ofxThread::ofxThread() and the ofxThread::isThreadRunning() method could be improved in some way?

ofxThread::ofxThread() old version:

ofxThread::ofxThread(){  
	threadRunning = false;  
}  

my draft proposal:

ofxThread::ofxThread() : threadRunning(false) { }  

Usage of initialization lists. Memory allocation and initialization in one step: slight speed benefits.

ofxThread::isThreadRunning() old version

bool ofxThread::isThreadRunning(){  
	//should be thread safe - no writing of vars here  
	if(threadRunning) return true;  
	else return false;  
}  

my draft proposal:

inline bool ofxThread::isThreadRunning()  
{  
   return this->threadRunning;  
}  

Removed unnecessary ‘if’ and ‘else’ statement. Inline and fewer statements provide more speed.

If I’m wrong I’d be glad if you could point out the mistake I made.
Thank you in advance, johannesh.

nice! and welcome to the forum !

I didn’t write ofxThread, but I think it’s nice to see people throwing up changes on the forum – and discussing how to improve code.

Your changes bring up the trade off between legibility and speed, and we’ve often times tried to err on the side of making legible code that’s easy to read.