Static variables

Hi

I’m in the process of learning C++ so please bear with me.

I’m making a particle system and want to alter the particle properties at runtime using ofxSimpleGuiToo. Here is the class structure:

-App
-ParticleManager
-Particle

The ofxSimpleGuiToo gui is set up in App. I need to be able to change the value of a variable in all instances of Particle from App. I’m mainly an Actionscript developer so in this case I would usually make the Particle properties static, this way I could change them from anywhere in the application. It seems that static or global variables in C++ don’t quite work the same way. Or do they?

I know I could place these variables in ParticleManager and pass them into each particle on update() but this doesn’t seem right, especially as there are several of them.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Jim

Ok… there are several ways to approach this…

The simplest approach (and probably the one most familiar to the static actionscript variables you described) would be to use global variables. Please note that for a number reasons, global variables are generally NOT recommended in most cases. In your case, what if you had several instances of your particle system, and wanted to manage the settings of each one individually?

A second approach would be to call a setMyValue method in your ParticleManager, and have your Particle objects query their manager for the value when they need it. This way, the value is centralized to one place. For this to work, you would need to make sure your Particle has a reference to its ParticleManager (ex. ParticleManager* myManager;), and then wherever you need to use the value, have the Particle call the ParticleManager’s getMyValue method.