Starting with OF on Raspberry Pi

I am a complete novice at using the Raspberry Pi but I have a project that requires me to perform skeleton detection using an Xtion Pro (PrimeSense 3D sensor). I need to keep the Pi standalone. I have installed OpenNI2, OpenCV 2.3.1, and OpenFramworks but I’m not sure where to go from here. My Pi is connected to my laptop via an ethernet and I am controlling my Pi through VNC from the laptop. My laptop is also providing internet to the Pi. I followed the OF official installation instructions for the Pi but when I run sample apps, the terminal just says “runappviainfiniteloop()” and nothing pops up or happens. I feel like I’m missing something really fundamental and would really appreciate help.

Hey there, do you have a physical monitor of any kind hooked up to the Raspberry Pi, either via HDMI or composite video output?

Not as of now. I view my RPi screen through a VNC viewer on my laptop.

I would recommend trying your setup with a physical monitor hooked up. Depending on what VNC system you are using, it may not be compatible with our ofAppEGLWindow code.

Okay so you are recommending that I view and control my Pi through VNC but use an HDMI output connected to a monitor as a second viewer. And the app will run on that second screen? I will test this soon. Also, let’s say this works and my samples run, would I be able to run a program for skeleton detection through OF on the pi without any monitors (because it needs to be portable)? If so, how do I then write my own code? And what do I do to use OpenNI and OpenCV in that code? Sorry for the influx of questions, I am just trying to learn the ropes still.