Some questions about lights & World->Eye coords translation with matrices

I already explained my problem on the IRC, but since it needs a bit of lengthy explanation, I preferred to do a post on the forum. Real openGL beginner here, sorry if some answers to my questions seem obvious.

I’m trying to learn lighting with shaders since in modern openGL, all gl_Lightsource things are deprecated… I would like to have my own lighting system and fully understand it.
So I’m starting from scratch through the basic example of passing a directional light to a shader,
like in this tutorial, but then things get complicated. Assuming I have my directional light within an ofLight, I need to calculate its direction in eye space.

First question(s) : since an ofLight is an ofNode, can ofNode::getGlobalOrientation(), or ofNode::getOrientationQuat for that matter, get me the direction of the light ? In which space ? Is it normalized ?
I assume world space by default, and already normalized since my tests get me values like 0 or 1, but I’m not sure.

Then, assuming I have light direction in world space. In the tutorial they transform light to camera space, normalize it, and send to GLSL. They do it by multiplying the light direction in world space by the view matrix. Then they normalize the result.

Second question: I cannot seem to find how to get the view matrix in OF. Is it important ?
ofCamera can get us most of the useful matrices (ModelView, ModelViewProjection, Projection…), but not the view matrix (the most approaching being the model view matrix which, if I understood well, is just (model matrix * view matrix)). I’m puzzled since in this other topic Ahbee calculates the camera space light position by doing

ofVec3f cameraSpaceLightPos = light.getPosition() * cam.getModelViewMatrix();

Is it okay to multiply the position (or, in my case, the direction) by the model view matrix instead of the view matrix ?