Simple C++ question : setters

I am pretty new to C++ but not to programming in general and am pulling my hair out trying to figure out an issue. I have a customer class (Follower) that extends Mover. In Follower, I have a simple setter method:

Mover target;
void Follower::setTarget(Mover _target) {
    target = _target;

cout << (&target == &_target) << endl;
}

My problem is, that the target passed in is not stored in my class instance. If you look at the identiy check after the assignment, it is returning false.

I have other code like this that works fine, but this is not working, and I have exhausted ideas of what might be wrong. I can provide more code if necessary, but I wanted to check if I was just missing something basic, or just misunderstanding something with C++.

Thanks for any input…

mike

When you write &variable you are actually retrieving the variable’s pointer in memory. So your check should only pass if you pass its own Follower::target as parameter.

Hi Mike,

In C++ when you pass in a paramter such as “Mover _target”, you are sending a copy of the original parameter. This copy is a total different object.

Then, in the body of the setTarget method, you are copying (target = _target) the object again to your internal Mover “target” member. These copys build new objects, thus the pointers are not the same as they point to different objects.

I assume you just want to maintain a reference/pointer to the original target set in setTarget, so you should use pointers instead of copying the object.

This is a usual confusion because other languages use pointers directly under the hood when writing the parameters as setTarget(Mover _target /pointer really/).

So:

Mover * target;
void Follower::setTarget(Mover * _target) {
    target = _target;

cout << (target == _target) << endl;
}

And in the call:

Mover oneTarget;
Follower follower;
follower.setTarget(&oneTarget);