Shaders to remap colours in texture?

I have been using openFrameworks for quite a few years, but GLSL programming is a little new to me.

I’m trying to implement an approach similar to https://developer.nvidia.com/gpugems/GPUGems/gpugems_ch22.html (Nvidia GPU Gems - see 22.2.2 Curves, specifically) which looks like a nice method to take complex RGB curve adjustments applied to an image in Photoshop and achieve the same effect on the GPU in realtime (I’m applying it to video frames which are rendered using a texture on a plane).

This seems like a really useful technique. But I just can’t get the last bit to work.

The essential process, as I understand it, is to use a 256x1 pixel “ramp” image as a map for how RGB should be remapped across their full range. Here’s an enlarged view of the image I’m using as a test:

Basically, this is the result of applying my desired curves to an original ramp image, which simply went linearly from full back to full white.

The idea is to sample from my “mainImage” 2D) texture and use the R, G and B values of each pixel to look up the corresponding coordinates on the “ramp” image (1D) texture and substitute the value found at that position on the ramp.

So, for example, 100 R in the original image would correspond to position 100 on the “ramp” image (1D texture) which and returns a Red value of 83, so this pixels in the image gets a pixel value of 83. Effectively remapping RGB values from the original to what they would be if modified by the curves as per the ramp image.

Here is my vertex shader, which doesn’t do all that much significant:

#version 410

uniform mat4 modelViewMatrix;
uniform mat4 projectionMatrix;
uniform mat4 textureMatrix;
uniform mat4 modelViewProjectionMatrix;

in vec4 position;
in vec4 color;
in vec4 normal;
in vec2 texcoord;

out vec2 varyingtexcoord;

void main()
{
    // move the texture coordinates
    varyingtexcoord = vec2(texcoord.x, texcoord.y);

// send the vertices to the fragment shader