Shaders on Android

Hi there,
I’m new to Of and Android NDK.
I’ve strugled to make the Shader Example run on my Nexus 4 and I finnaly made it work.
I thought I would post what solved my probleme
first of all.
if you changed the name of your application you need to change the name of the zip file “MyOfApp/res/raw/androidshaderexampleresources.zip” to “MyOfApp/res/raw/myofappresources.zip”
if you do not, you wont be able to load the shaders

then,
in this zip file, in the noise.frag file
change line 18 from
    if( mod(xVal, 2.0) == 0.5 && mod(yVal, 4.0) == 0.5 ){
to
    if( mod(xVal, 2.0) == 0.0 && mod(yVal, 4.0) == 0.0 ){

(found this here https://github.com/openframeworks/openFrameworks/issues/2825)

this worked for me
(I’m new to this forum, therefor if somthing wrong with my post, please notify me)

Hi Anton,

Was there anything else you needed to do to get shaders working on Android? I fixed that line of code but they are still not working for me. I have quite a few questions about getting shaders working so bear with me!

Do I need to add this line into the manifest?

<uses-feature android:glEsVersion="0x00020000" android:required="true" />

Also, do they need the

#version 120 

that precedes the meat of the shader?

How exactly are you supposed to edit and update your shaders? If I create a data folder within the bin and then run my app, it seems like it zips up, renames to myappresources.zip, deletes the original, and then moves to myApp/res/raw. Should I be re-zipping my shaders into the raw folder after each edit, or should I be making new data folders and letting the app move it around at compile time?

When I try to run the shader example or another app I made with shaders, I get an error from libEGL saying

called unimplemented OpenGL ES API

as well as one from ofShader saying

setupShaderFromSource(): GL_VERTEX_SHADER shader failed to compile.

I’m using
OSX v. 10.8.5
NDK r9b
SDK 22.6.2
oF 0.8.1
Tried on both a Galaxy SIII and a S5 with same results.