Setting up ofxOsc on Android (and general debugging on Android)

Hi,

(Note: if anyone has an example app that runs on android and uses ofxOsc, I’d love to see it)

I’ve been trying to set up OF on android so I can make an ofxOsc app to communicate between the android and my mac. I am completely new to Eclipse and Android development although I have done a number of OF apps on osx.

I am able to build the app without trouble. However, when I run the app it crashes immediately. I put in some log statements and tried to find the bug by commenting out various lines. When I commented out this line:

sender.setup(HOST, PORT);

the app stopped crashing (I made sure nothing used the sender after that so it wouldn’t crash). Adding that line back in makes the app crash. The error is always

12-24 14:31:55.069: A/libc(7235): Fatal signal 6 (SIGABRT), code -6 in tid 7277 (GLThread 43430)

I am used to debugging in C++, but I am struggling getting useful debug information back from the application. I’ve tried looking up a lot of ideas for how to setup debugging in eclipse and even using logcat and ndk-stack to try to get something useful but am failing. In fact, it doesn’t even seem like eclipse is stopping at the breakpoints I set.

I’m wondering if anyone out there with more experience building these apps on android and can give me advice for how to try to track down the bug. Or if anyone has a working ofxOsc app example on android. Or any other advice.

Thanks in advance,
Patrick

“Fatal signal 6 (SIGABRT), code -6” means the UI hanging up (ANR).

Hi,

Thanks for the idea! I tried to look for ANR problems. I set show all ANRs in debug settings on the phone and haven’t been able to find anything that says that the particular abort is an ANR. But I also am completely failing at getting a backtrace or any useful debug information. I’ve tried in both eclipse and android studio and can’t seem to get any useful debugging info.