reducing video latency

Hello all,

this is my first post to the forum, I’m new with openframeworks.

I’m working on a realtime painting program where we track infra red light sources with a ps3eye and opencv findContours

I’m having problems getting a latency lower than 120ms. I’ve documented my measurement method and results here:
https://github.com/mattvenn/measure-video-latency/wiki

The thing that is perhaps most interesting is that with a very straight forward video pipe (no opencv):

ps3eye -> guvcview -> lcd monitor = 50ms
ps3eye -> openframeworks -> lcd monitor = 120ms (code below).

One thing this could be to do with is that guvcview can run at 125fps, but I can’t get openframeworks to run at more than 60. It seems to be hard limited, even if I set framerate explicitly with ofSetFrameRate(160);

Any ideas on how to get openframeworks video capture to work with lower latency?

Thanks!
Matt

void testApp::setup() {  
	width = ofGetWidth();  
	height = ofGetHeight();  
	vidGrabber.setVerbose(true);  
	vidGrabber.initGrabber(320, 240);  
	colorImg.allocate(320, 240);  
	grayImage.allocate(320, 240);  
}  

//--------------------------------------------------------------  

void testApp::update() {  

bool bNewFrame = false;  

vidGrabber.grabFrame();  
		bNewFrame = vidGrabber.isFrameNew();  

if (bNewFrame)  
		{  
			colorImg.setFromPixels(vidGrabber.getPixels(), 320, 240);  
			grayImage = colorImg;  
		}  
}  

void testApp::draw()  
{  
	grayImage.draw(0,0);  
}  

I found that I got lower latency with FireWire cameras but I haven’t got nearly as accurate information as you :slight_smile:

Seb

Which driver/OS are you using?

oops, sorry to omit such important info!

I’m using linux 2.6.38
openframeworks 0061 (I think, not sure how to tell. I downloaded this: openframeworks-openFrameworks-6651a00.tar.gz)

I’m not sure about driver. When I start the video capture I get this on the output: