question about speed of openframeworks

Hello im very new with openframeworks. i been using processing , im interesting in developing systems of interacting agents, in processing i feel very limited in the number of agents i can use before my computer became slow. Is there any way to know how much faster does a same application made in processing runs on openframeworks?
Ive made some test just with bouncing spheres in a macosx leopard with 2.4, in processing i can have until 200 spheres before my computer became slow. I ve tried the same in openframeworks and i discovered it is faster but not so much. I can run until 400 spheres until my computer became slow. I sincerely expected much powerful results on openframeworks. what about if i need to make 1000 or 2000 objects in openframeworks that runs smooth? is that possible? any hint?

thanks in advance

Matias

sometimes it’s much about how you draw, and the techniques that you use to optimize.

I don’t think you can compare speed in this way. n^2 problems (ie particle particle interaciton) and even n log n problems are not linear :slight_smile: – getting 400 objects to interact with each other is not twice faster then getting 200. For 1000 - 2000 you will definitely need some optimization, like binning. for > 2000, like 10,000 etc, you’ll need some really smart stuff.

I have examples of particles interacting with each other (approx 2000 and 8000) here:

http://www.makingthingsmove.org/blog/?p=251

it’s 2d, but could be extended for 3d without problem…

take care!
zach

ps: You didn’t post your code that you are testing with, so I’m not sure how are you are drawing, but our circle is by default made up of 22 triangles, use ofSetCircleResolution(…) to make it smaller, like ofSetCircleresolution(10) and you will have much fater draws (or use ofRect()).

Hi Zach
i was just going through the examples you posted, thats really amazing!