Quadrophonic sound

Dear all,

Here, in Uruguay, we are carrying on a workshop on Physical Computing (fancy name), but have yet to decide which tools we’ll be using…

I’d like the students to use OpenFrameorks as I believe is a more general approach and so they will get the best out of the workshop… but the project we’re working on needs to output quadraphonic sound.

So here comes my question: does anyone have any suggestion on how to deal with that? I have no experience at all with quad sound… and I can’t find any related post here (or suitable C++ library on the interwebs, for that matter).

One of the project’s modules will be outputting MIDI, so we can consume MIDI from, say, Reaktor, and generate the sound from there, but -again- I’d love to do it with OF (and will definitely be the best for the students…)

So, any comment, help or suggestion is more than welcome!

Thanks a bunch, and best wishes to everyone!
–k

openFrameworks sound output uses a library called Fmod. have a look around their website, you might find some more info there…

otherwise, have you considered doing the sound output through different software? whenever i’m doing sound in a project, that is even slightly more complex than just triggering samples, i use [url=http]Pure Data[/a] and communicate with it via Open Sound Control.

to add on to what damian said – OF uses two sound libraries / approaches internally:

a) fmod for playing samples and streaming audio
b) rtAudio for real time callback based audio / synthesis and analysis