Project guidance: OF + arduino + cellular automata + l-systems + supercollider

Hi!

This is my very first post here at the forum, and I wish I can explain exactly what I need.

I’m a brazilian design student currently working on my final graduation project. Speaking roughly, it consists of a “living” sound sculpture, where the user can interact with it through a tangible malleable interface, producing generative feedback. More info can be seen at http://www.quando.art.br/devir (only in portuguese), or http://theinstrumentproject.tumblr.com (where I post the tangible instrument development status).

Bellow is a basic schematic of how I’m planning it to function (on the technical level).

I’m actually on a stage that I need to define which language is best suited for me.

The only things really well defined at my basic setup is the use of a Lilypad Arduino (witch 5 accelerometers parsing data through bluetooth), and on the audio output, Supercollider. I have some background using Processing - and I’m really afraid that I’l need a more robust programming language to handle all that at a good rate speed. As this is an interactive project, it is really important that the feedback is consistent and fast enough.

Questions:

• Is Cinder a well suited language for my project? - It should be able to communicate easily with Arduino, parse all the data, handle the cellular automaton system, generate the visual output and generate data outputted to Supercollider. The visual feedback will be as complex as it can get with the responsiveness I get.

• Does anyone have any idea, trail or have seen a similar project that can contribute with my development?

• Can you indicate some “key-libraries” for what I’m intending to do, or even programming concepts and frameworks suitable for this?

I’m REALLY open to whatever contribution you might have to me at this stage. Hope someone can bring me some light!