Optimisation

I’m trying to reproduce the brush “web” from this web app http://www.chromeexperiments.com/detail/harmony/ in an open framework app.

I have manage to create the same result. My problem is that my app is really slow. After few seconds of painting my brush stop being real time. JS + HTML5 is good but my guess is C++ is suppose to be way more powerful! :wink:

I’m new to C++. Here’s part of my code… At first I used simple vector to store mouse coord points, than I tried to use a pointer in my vector to gain performance… not much change.

Do you have any idea of how I could optimise my app?

testApp.ccp :

#include "testApp.h"  

//--------------------------------------------------------------  
void testApp::setup(){  

franklin.loadFont("frabk.ttf",12);  
	ofBackground(255, 255, 255);  
	start = TRUE;  

}  

void testApp::draw(){  

ofEnableSmoothing();  
	int test;  
	for(int i=1;i<points.size();i++){  

ofSetColor(0, 0, 0);  
		if (!points[i]->start) {  
			ofLine(points[i-1]->x, points[i-1]->y, points[i]->x, points[i]->y);  
			test = points[i]->x;  
		}  

}  

ofEnableAlphaBlending();  

for(int i=1;i<sideLines.size();i++){  

ofSetColor(sideLines[i]->colorR, sideLines[i]->colorG, sideLines[i]->colorB, sideLines[i]->transparency);  
		ofLine(sideLines[i]->x1, sideLines[i]->y1, sideLines[i]->x2, sideLines[i]->y2);  

}  

ofDisableAlphaBlending();  

sprintf(eventString, "Size: %i | X: %i",points.size(),test);  
	franklin.drawString(eventString, 50,50);  

}  

void testApp::keyPressed(int key){  

if(key == 'p') {  
	points.clear();  
	}  
	if (key == 's') {  
	sideLines.clear();  
	}  

}  

void testApp::mouseDragged(int x, int y, int button){  

points.push_back(new point(x,y,start));  

if(!start)  {	  

for(int i=0;i<points.size();i++){  

if ((x-points[i]->x)*(x-points[i]->x)+(y-points[i]->y)*(y-points[i]->y) < 4500 && ofRandomuf() > 0.90)	{  

sideLines.push_back(new sideLine(ofRandom(1,150),x,y,points[i]->x,points[i]->y));  

}  

}  
	}