Openframework ofAndroid addon

I am new to openframeworks. I using OF for android. At the moment my goal is to understand the dynamics of the framework. For example how OF is interacting with Android. I understand addon.make file contains loaded addons that are loaded and used in native code. However, for android examples I found one java based project called ofAndroidLib. Can you please explain to be what is the purpose of that project and how that is interacting with android and native source files. Sorry if that is very generic but as I mention I am newbie who is really looking forward to dig deep into framework. Thanks

Android is an operating system and he provides his own libraries in the Java programming language (commonly referred as “Java side”). But openFrameworks is written in C++ (commonly referred as “Native side”)

Like each software openFrameworks needs to interact with some operating system libraries. The methods and the callbacks of the Android libraries provided in Java side should be somehow transferred to the Native side. And the methods and the callbacks of the Native side should be somehow transferred to the Java side. In the Java world, these two sided transfers are conducted by Java Native Interface (JNI). JNI system has methods both in Java side and in Native side to perform the data transfers.

ofxAndroid is one of the official addons of the openFrameworks. He is a JNI implementation who provides the data transfers between the Java side and Native side. Like each major JNI implementation, he has some methods in the Java side and some methods in the Native side to be able to perform the transfer jobs.

ofAndroidLib is the Java part of the ofxAndroid, where the necessary Java methods are implemented. Thanks to ofAndroidLib classes and methods, openFrameworks can interact with Java libraries of the Android operating system.