ofxSoundEngine: a more complete extension of FMOD Ex into OF

I have been thinking of ways in which I could contribute to OF, and seeing that my area of expertise is sound, and my disappointing venture into using ofSoundPlayer to create some sound manipulation programs, I decided I wanted to look into making a more complete version of a FMOD Ex system. I studied a lot of different sources, for some time(being that my background stems from max/MSP), and finally came up with what I thought would work as a good start. Unfortunately for some reason I can’t get a sound to load into the engine, and get a return error from FMOD concerning an invalid parameter in my call to FMOD_System_CreateSound. I am stumped as to what I did wrong. Everything compiles ok, but I know C++ can be funny like that, being such a dynamic and powerful language.

I think it has something to do with the system I set up to create vectors and FMOD_SOUND pointers and properly utilize channels inside FMOD, but I just sorta winged it here, as my understanding of pointers and vectors is still kinda loose.

Anywho, anyone is welcome to take a look/use/improve upon how I did things… Please. I really would like to learn more about this part of things and be able to contribute more on the sound manipulation/DSP part of OF.

not included in the zip is FMOD api library, which my need altering to work properly, altough I think OF includes it somewhere… my be wrong… was planning on altering my include once I could make it stable. Also, the drum.aif is not included, just change that part or add a sound to your data dir.

Thanks in advance for any help/input/advice.

Arick

**PLEASE SEE LINK BELOW FOR CURRENT ZIP**

So after taking a step back for a few days and coming back, I realized that my error was user-related. I forgot to run the initalize. :oops:

Anyhow, I will now be adding in and extending out support for channel groups, DSP, and eventually the 3D stuff, but that is last on my list.