OfxSequencer error: 'r' does not name a type

Hi folks, I am very new to OpenFrameworks, so please pardon my noobish questions.

I am currently trying to use the OfxAbletonLive addon, and in the 3rd example it requires the OfxSequencer addon, which I have downloaded and added to my project. When I try to compile my project, the ofxSequencer.cpp seems to be giving me issues regarding the declaration of ‘r’.

At first ‘r’ is declared as an integer

void ofxSequencer::randomize() 
{
    for (int r=0; r<rows.size(); r++) {
    rows[r]->randomize();
    }
redraw();
}

But later on when declared as auto, it gives me an error:

void ofxSequencer::advance()
{
    column = (column + 1) % cols;
    if (smooth) {
        bpmTime = ofGetElapsedTimeMillis();
        cursor = column;
        for (auto r : rows) {
            r->update(cursor);
        }
    }
    else
    {
        for (auto r : rows) {
            r->update(column);
        }
    }
    ofNotifyEvent(beatEvent, column, this);
}

I get this error upon compiling:

|error: 'r' does not name a type|

Are there any additional things I have to do to get this addon running? It does not seem to be an issue with the example code, since this is a compiling error directly from ofxSequencer.cpp.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

What version of openFrameworks are you using, and what operating system are you on?

well theres a few things that need to be clarified here. The r in your first snippet of code does not scope outside of that expression so you are not converting types. The r only exists for that for loop, similar to the ones below only things work slightly different with auto.