OfxOpenNI, Kinect skeleton and POCO deprecation

As far as I know OfxOpenNI is the only way to get Skeleton data using OpenFrameworks (at least on OSX)

• ofxOpenNI2 - abandoned, supports only Windows SDK
  • ofxKinect - no skeleton data

So I have an ambitious plan to make OfxOpenNI 0.9.2+ compatible. I am not a pro developer so this is quite challenging for me. Currently the biggest issue is to get rid of POCO and multithreading stuff that has been deprecated in 0.9.1 (if I’m not mistaken). I found a pull request which explains that we have to remove POCO to make everything c++11 compatible, but i found nothing on what should I use instead…
https://github.com/openframeworks/openFrameworks/pull/3913

Can anyone explain which direction should i look? And is my idea of digging OfxOpenNI from the grave is right in general? Maybe there are other alternatives?

1 Like

This is a quick fix but should work in OF 0.9.2

1 Like

theanks @fresla! The ‘deafault’ example is working fine. (it’s detecting the hands ‘in boxes’)

but renaming the other ‘src’ files to check the other examples are not working. No kinect deetected and I am getting this:
> [verbose] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: Adding licence: PrimeSense 0KOIk2JeIBYClPWVnMoRKn5cdY4=status:OK
> [notice ] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: Init device…
> [verbose] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: Enumerate devicesstatus:Can’t create any node of the requested type!
> [notice ] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: Found0devices connected
> [warning] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: REAL Device could not be initialized - you can still use an ONI
> [notice ] ofxOpenNIDevice[0]: Adding generator typeXN_NODE_TYPE_DEPTH

Must I modify the other src/testApp.h and .cpp in some way? It’s something related to searching of multiple devices?

I am in Capitan. 0.9.2.

ill check again once I have time, it was all working. The error just says it does not see your kinect.