ofxMidi on iOS

Hey everyone,

Just a quick question that I’ve not managed to find an answer to just yet!
I was wondering if ofxMidi works on the iPhone build of Openframeworks?

Would be very keen to find out!

Regards,

Michael

I don’t think it does. I’ve been thinking about packaging up http://gitorious.org/midimonitor into an OF addon though. It’s a CoreMIDI wrapper for iOS.

Hey Seth,

Ha, odd coincidence!

I’ve just managed to work that code into an Openframeworks project (posted sample code on my site)
http://michaelaldridge.info/post/7393386507/coremidi-within-openframeworks

So far I’ve just managed to get Midi Out working (and only tested on a Wifi MIDI connection) however it’s a start! I must admit that I’m not an expert on Objective C so there is definitely a better way of doing it, I’m sure!

Let me know what you think!

Michael

I’ll take a look later glidepro. I got the code working outside of OF a few weeks ago, but haven’t had time to go back to it. It should be fairly simple to make it an addon I think. I’ll take a look at what you did and maybe can use it in my project as well. :slight_smile:

I think it would be a good idea to maybe wrap some of the code in a .mm to make it easier. That way we can call it like cpp instead of having to use obj-c.

Like instead of having to do this:

// put all the data together and send...  
	const UInt8 note      = noteValue[touch.id];  
	const UInt8 noteOn[]  = { 0x90, note, 127 };  
	[midi sendBytes:noteOn size:sizeof(noteOn)];  

we could put in a wrapper that could just call:

midi.noteOn(channel, note, volume);  
midi.noteOff(channel, note);  

and inside noteOn would be:

void midi::noteOn(uint channel, int note, int volume){  

//noteOn function wrapping the obj-c code  

const UInt8 noteOn[]  = { channel, note, volume};  
	[midi sendBytes:noteOn size:sizeof(noteOn)];  
}  

Just popping in to say:

THANKS!