ofxMaxim Tutorials

Hi everyone,

I am currently building a tutorial series on ofxMaxim.

I won’t promise that my explanations are perfect, nor the code; I’m fairly new to C++, let alone DSP, but the code does as it is advertised!

I wanted to share it incase anyone wanted to start a project and was confused on how to start. Let me know about any mistakes (I’m sure there are plenty) and any requests if there are some.

Code will be in a repository soon and all the video’s will link to them.

Current plan:

1. simple oscillator
  2. mixing
  3. amp mod
  4. envelopes
  5. freq mod
  6. multiple oscillators
  7. FFT <— videos to this point are uploaded
  8. audio input <— videos to this point are made
  9. simple sampler
  10. simple sequencer
  11. step sequencer
  12. filters
  13. delay
  14. distortion <— projects/code to this point are completed
  15. chorus & flanger
  16. bark scale analysis
  17. MFCC
  18. reverb (algorithmic not convolution)
  19. granular
  20. euclidean rhythms?

Best,

Leon

5 Likes

Hi Leon, these look great thanks for putting together such a handy resource.

I think it could be beneficial to include the final projects in a Github repository so students could quickly go back and look over the code in a specific area without having to re-watch the video. What are your thoughts on this?

Hi Joshua,

That’s absolutely in the works, it should all be up no later than a couple of days. I want to comment out everything and have it looking clean for the general public.

Best, Leon

Great news thanks Leon. Looks like it will be a really valuable resource.

Hi Leon,

many thanks for your video tutorials, it really helped me a great deal in getting started with ofxMaxim. I hope you continue this great series.

Sound,
Yenz

Really nice Leon!
Do you plan to do any more? And did you place the code in a repository somewhere?

Cheers
Andreas

I was following this tutorial and put up code in this repo, hope it’s helpful