ofxiOSExtras problem

Hi all,

I am new to openframeworks I have a problem in ofxiOSExtras.
I want to convert uiimage to of image but I am not able to do that I have tried my level best but of no avail.
I am using ofxiOSExtras class and calling the function ofxiOSUIImageToOFImage but the application is crashing in the function at point “outImage.setFromPixels(pixels, width, height, ofImageMode, true);”
Can some one suggest some solution.

Hi,

In order for someone to help you out I suggest that you post more of your code. If you follow the OF pattern in your project and use the setup and update functions you could post those to functions to start with. Are you new to C++ as well?

Hi Wiklund
Thanks for your reply. Actually I have a UIImagePicker for which after picking the image from camera I pass the image to this function to get OFImage from UIImage. But the app is crashing
Here is my code

void ofApp::loadImage(UIImage * myimage)
{
ofImage myOFimage;
ofxiOSUIImageToOFImage(myimage, myOFimage);
}

OK, I haven’t used ofxiOSExtras myself, but there are a couple of things you could check.

• set a debug breakpoint at the same line as ofxiOSUIImageToOFImage(myimage, myOFimage);
    what is the value of myimage at that point? Does it point at something usefull, is it 0, or is it not initialized at all perhaps?

• myOFImage will get out of scope when loadImage returns (it won’t exist). If you’re trying to use myOFImage after loadImage is done xcode should warn about this. Or maybe you declared another ofImage myOfImage outside of loadImage? Either way it really makes no sense letting myOFimage die when loadImage is done. Make loadImage return an ofImage instead:

ofImage ofApp::loadImage(UIImage * myimage)
{
ofImage myOFimage;
ofxiOSUIImageToOFImage(myimage, myOFimage);
return myOFimage;
}

//then use it like this
ofImage myImage = loadImage( pointerToUIImage );

Hope this helps!

Hi Wiklund,