ofMatri3x3 * ofVec3f Invalid operands to binary expression error

Hello,

Beginner here. I am trying to multiply an ofMatrix3x3 by an ofVec3f unsuccessfully. I get an Semantic Issue error saying “Invalid operands to binary expression.” I assume it is probably a very easy solution to this, but I have not been able to find the answer.

This is my code
Header:

#pragma once

#include "ofMain.h"

class ofApp : public ofBaseApp{
	public:
		void setup();
		void update();
		void draw();
		void keyPressed(int key);
		void keyReleased(int key);
		void mouseMoved(int x, int y );
		void mouseDragged(int x, int y, int button);
		void mousePressed(int x, int y, int button);
		void mouseReleased(int x, int y, int button);
		void mouseEntered(int x, int y);
		void mouseExited(int x, int y);
		void windowResized(int w, int h);

ofMatrix3x3 rotateXY;
    ofVec3f v1; //vectorForward;    
};

.cpp:

#include "ofApp.h"

float theta = 45.0;
float thetaRad = (theta * 3.14159265358979323846) / 180;

void ofApp::keyPressed(int key){

rotateXY.set(cos(thetaRad), -(sin(thetaRad)), 0.0,
                 sin(thetaRad), cos(thetaRad), 0.0,
                 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);

v1.set(0.0,   1.0,  1.0);

rotateXY * v1;
}

Thanks in advance,
Irving.

Hi irv,

In ofMatrix3x3.h I don’t see any definition for the multiplication between an ofMatrix3x3 and an ofVec3f. I don’t know why.
If you want to apply some linear transformation to an ofVec3f you can use an ofMatrix4x4. You can do the same geometrical transformations, and more (translations for example).

float theta = 45.0;
ofMatrix4x4 rotateXY;
rotateXY.rotate( theta, 0, 0, 1 ); // simplier than computing each values with trigonometry

ofVec3f v1(0.0,   1.0,  1.0);

ofVec3f v2 = v1 * rotateXY; // Take care: v1 * rotateXY, not rotateXY * v1
cout << v2.x << endl; // -0.707107
cout << v2.y << endl; // 0.707107
cout << v2.z << endl; // 1

Some explanations here: Matrix usage

1 Like

Hello Lilive,