offscreen/invisible -> very high CPU load

hello,

i’m new to this, thrilled to be here and doing a first little project in of.

my goal is to have a daemon-like app(let) that receives serial data from an arduino, parses it and sends it on as osc-formatted messages. so far so good. i got it all working.

what i notice, though, is that whenever the app’s window is completely hidden, the CPU percentage as shown by top goes through the roof. where normally the app runs at around 3.5% CPU when visible, as soon as it’s hidden the values go up to 60% or 70% CPU.

i tried disabling all drawing and window etc, but to no avail.
i’m stumped and have no idea where to begin optimizing this.

ideally i’d like to compile the app as command-line tool without any GUI whatsoever, a real daemon.

is something like this possible with of?

any hints appreciated.

my specs:
of 0.05
OSX 10.5.4
MBP 2.33

/*j

1 Like

by default, glut wants to run as fast as possible, and it will take the cpu usage high even if it’s not doing anything. if you set the frame rate slower, it will yield more, like

ofSetFrameRate(20); // run at 20 fps…

etc…

can you see if that helps?

best,
zach

setting the framerate does indeed stabilize the CPU utilization.
will this also cap the rate at which update() is called?

am i correct to think that the execution loop is a callback run by glut?
and that glut when is not provided with a context to draw in i.e. its window is hidden, it runs absolutely wild?

just guessing…

thanks

/*j

[quote author=“j45ch”]setting the framerate does indeed stabilize the CPU utilization.
will this also cap the rate at which update() is called?

am i correct to think that the execution loop is a callback run by glut?
and that glut when is not provided with a context to draw in i.e. its window is hidden, it runs absolutely wild?
[/quote]