ofEnableSmoothing on iPhone

Hi, I’m relatively new to openFrameworks but I’m loving the access it allows for easier iPhone app making. I’ve been working on my project for a few month now and I’m using basic shapes and lines with the ofxiPhone. My question is if anyone has gotten the ofEnableSmoothing to work on the iPhone device, not the simulator. Any reply would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Short answer: It doesn’t really work

Long answer: It should work and probably will soon on newer devices, and you can sort of fake it yourself.

iPhone uses GLES not openGL which is very stripped down (but still powerful) version of GL that doesn’t include a lot of the overhead (translation extra functions that aren’t really necessary). There are 2 versions of GLES, GLES1 and GLES2. iPhones before the 3GS use GLES1, everything past that (iPhone 3GS/ 4, iPad) support both GLES1 and GLES2. The best thing to do with GLES to get smoothing is use an anti-aliasing shader.

Unfortunately, GLES1 doesn’t have support for shaders, and ofxIphone is currently built for GLES1. I am pretty positive it will support GLES2 very soon though (I see a lot of references to it in the newest versions on GIT) at which point throwing an anti aliasing shader on stuff shouldn’t be too tough. I don’t know if this is something that will be built into OF or not but shouldn’t really matter.

Idea #1:
What you can do to fake anti aliasing is a number of things, most of which involve drawing something twice. The first time you draw it at like 1/4 of it’s size to an FBO (frame buffer object) and then draw that FBO at 4x it’s size, so it scales up and blurs. You can then draw regularly above it and it should have some anti-aliasing, you definitely need to experiment with it though. This will probably give a really noticeable blur and more of a shadow though unless you do it with a very tiny amount of scaling.

Idea #2:
You can draw to an FBO 4x as big then draw it scaled down, this may be sharper.