OF project obj\release\icon.res problem with code::blocks

Hi windows OF ally!

I am having a problem with running external projects in code::blocks. The projects are from our teacher in the OF class and it is made available for windows as well. In the build message panel of code::blocks, I have this warning shows up every time I open a new project:

Obj\Release\icon.res no such file or directory
(and the little icon of “icon. rc” under “Resources” of the project looks broken in the management panel…)

I am using code::blocks (12.11) and I have re-checked my installation, folder order, compiler location as well as generating a new project with project generator and copy and paste the project’s .h and .cpp file in the new one…basically everything that I thought might has caused this issue. And it doesn’t work.

As a OF newbie, I am sending my SOS here. Anybody happen to have any suggestions/ solutions? Please let me know if further information is needed. Big thanks!

1 Like

It sounds like the icon.rc file is missing. It’s just a little text file that can be found here:

https://github.com/openframeworks/openFrameworks/tree/master/scripts/win_cb/template

Try downloading the file or copying it into your project directory.

If you create your projects using project generator this file should be copied into your project folder … but it sounds like it went missing somehow.

Also note that the icon.rc file used for codeblocks files sometimes conflicts with the icon.rc used for visual studio files, so make sure you have the right one in your directory.

Good luck!

Thanks for the reply! I copied the file into my project file and a new warning showed up when I tried to run the project:

fatal error: when writing output to : Invalid argument|
syntax error
preprocessing failed.
||=== Build finished: 3 errors, 0 warnings (0 minutes, 0 seconds) ===|

Did I do something wrong during the copy & paste process?