OF Audio generative recommendations

Hi, everyone.
I want to build a simple music software using OF for an univeristy work.
I would like for this to be able to be installed it in a Raspberry Pi .

I am really new in OF , so I have been looking for some books and most of them uses old versions of OP and I was not able to run most of the examples in OP 10 .
The best tutorias dediated to audio that I saw are made in 072-08…

1- Is it worth to downgrade my OF and Xcode to work with that for now that am learning ?

If not…

2- could you recommend me any good book or tutorial for OP 10 dedicated to audio and synthesis ?

Also, I am wondering if

3- Its worth using Pure Data addon + OP ?
4- What are the advantages to work with PD ?
5- Is it possible to make an standalone application using PD + OP ?

Thanks !!!

Hi @llorencg,

I’m not sure what you mean by OP, but I’m gonna assume you mean OF.

1 - i would say don’t downgrade, you might encounter some compatibilities issues, which might send you down a rabbit hole of dependencies patching and libraries updates which will not help you to learn Openframeworks, :/.
I believe you can try to write pretty much the same code, it should be relatively similar. If it doesn’t work, just post it here, I’ll take a look, :slight_smile: .

by @lewislepton to start coding with OF,
most important one :
https://openframeworks.cc/learning/

2 - try using :
ofxPDSP :

by @npisanti, there isn’t a proper tutorial, but the documentation is there, it’s pretty exhaustive, and clear,

ofxMaximilian :

by Mick Grierson,
there isn’t a whole lot of documentation, so although it’s been there for longer and has a lot of features, you might find it more obscure.

ofxPD :

by @danomatika,
fully documented.