OF and OpenCV

Hi, I’m new to OF and OpenCV, so I hope this question is ok.

I’ve been reading up on both OF and OpenCV. My confusion is how designers are developing projects that use OF and OpenCV together. Are they downloading the OF library as well as the OpenCVlibrary and tying them together? Or are they using the OF with the OpenCV addon? Lastly, does the OpenCV addon have all the functionality of the OpenCV downloadable from their site?

Thanks!

The openCV addon (ofxOpenCv) is a wrapper. It adds a C++ API on top of the openCv C API.

It definitely allow you to use the vanilla OpenCv API. So, with ofxOpenCv you can also do straight OpenCv programming, only use the addon API or both mixed together.

For mixing, you can always get the IplImage from a ofxOpenCv image type and use it just like in a openCv only project:

ofxCvGrayscaleImage img;
IplImage* iplimg = img.getCvImage();
cvCanny( iplimg, … );

Hope this clarifies things,

thank you, this clarifies things a lot! :smiley:

Hi Stefan,

I started Open Frameworks yesterday and I have been mixing Opencv and Open Frameworks today. But I can figure out hao to put an ipl image into an Open Frameworks one. So the other way around than the suggestion you posted.

Diana.

Say you have:

ofxCvGrayscaleImage grayImg;
IplImage* iplimg;

get a pointer to the ipl image out of the ofxCvGrayscaleImage:

IplImage* iplgray = grayImg.getCvImage();

Then do:
cvCopy(iplimg, iplgray);

Also Note:
Starting with the next soon to be released version you will have to call:
grayImage.flagImageChanged()
to make sure possible textures and helper images are upded along

I just added a new operator to the dev version of ofxOpenCv. So in the next version you will be able to simply do:

grayImg = iplimg;

done :wink:

thanks, Stefan, this is very helpful.

Diana.

Hi Stefan,