Not sure why i'm getting slower results compared to Processing

Hey guys, i’ve been using processing for a couple years now and at this point i’m really not satisfied by the speed i get from my projects.
I’ve been aware of openframeworks for quite some time and people all over the internet seem to be suggesting it’s faster than processing so i decided to give it a try.
The first project i’m trying to implement in OF is a particle system, since, in processing, it gets really low framerates after 8-9 hundred particles. It has some basic physics including some force interactions and seperation among particles which is what slows things down so much (since it needs an extra nested loop in each iteration to check for distances). I know that there are optimisations that can help here (eg quadtrees) though i’m still curious about what results i can get with OF.
Anyways, after dealing with all the OF/c++/ide weirdness i managed to create a simple particle class and things seem to work fine but when i add the nested loop in the particle update function it gets really slow really fast (even at 100 particles).

In case anyone can help here’s a drive link with the source files:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1o4c-BDaaWaOix22WMzcVR9gPd1Bhh-oO
Thanks!

Hey!

Did you try to use

ofSetFrameRate(30);

like said in this post ( OF and Macbook Pro 2018? ) by @zach L?

Otherwise, the code seem to be pretty good (to me), maybe try using a pointer on the other particle in the update function?

void Particle::update(Particle* other) {
	if (ofDist(pos.x,pos.y,other->pos.x,other->pos.y) < sepLim) {
		cons.push_back(other->pos);
	}
	pos.x += ofRandom(-1, 1);
	pos.y += ofRandom(-1, 1);
}

and in the update function :

//--------------------------------------------------------------
void ofApp::update(){
	for (int i = 0; i < particles.size(); i++) {
		for (int j = 0; j < particles.size(); j++) {
			particles[i].update(&particles[j]);
		}
	}
}