My very first Openframeworks work simple fractal trees

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGl4fG3GcqY

Recursive fractal tree pre-calculation, stored in tree structure and then BFS algorithm for rendering (with some binned particle rendering at base of flame, because I liked the dust effect)

Reacting on the IR emitted by the flame.

best regards,
Karel.

3 Likes

its beautiful!

Amazing! Can you share the code, please. I’m a newbie and would like read it.

Best regards

David

Sure !
Which part are you interested in,
the tree drawing or the particles ?

I ask because I will need some time to comment things…
For you to be more usefull…

Hi Karel

I would be super nice to publish the tree drawing code.
I also have done a similar recursive tree pattern but than I got stuck when I wanted to make a solid data structure out of it which might be used for other interactions - like animating the branches / falling leaves etc… once the tree has been drawn. Do u save the data in a structure or just OpenGL-draw?

Thx a lot
Ninka

1 Like

Thanks for the interest !

I calculate the tree recursively first just like processing exemple of Daniel Shiffman I believe…
When calculating I put references in a Tree structure like this…

struct Tree{

Tree *ancestor;
Tree *branch1;
Tree *branch2;

}

Then I use a Breadth First Search Algorithm for rendering by marking the branches which will lead them to be progressively drawed…

If you want to animate things however I recommend you to use a verlet system which will be more appropriate…
I saw a nice example here made by rui madeira http://cargocollective.com/ruimadeira#64249/Parque

Maybe you can try to combine both a verlet system and a recursive approach…

You can use code, but you will need tbeta or tuio simulator for the trees to appear since
I didn’t had time to implement tree generating by mouse…

Ah and code is really more a draft than anything you can build things on,