Multiple windows?

Hi all!

So, I’m pretty new at all this, I was wondering whether it is possible to make two windows run simultaneusly? This, for the purpose of running the two windows on separate screens and making objects transferrable between the two?

Firstly, if it is possible at all, since I cannot find any information regarding this.

Secondly, any pointers to get me started would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks!

Hi Learning007,

Drawing between separate windows can be very difficult, you would have to do it within OpenGL I suspect and it can get very complicated. What might be best would be to declare a window that spans all the screens, and just animate within the window (effectively animating between screens).

Which platform are you developing on OSX? Windows? Mac OS X?

Cheers,

Joel

It’s actually pretty easy to get a multiple window happening in OF. OF is built on top of glut, which has multi-window functionality. The downside is that you can’t use the usual virtual function draw() to draw the second window, and you have to do a few low-level opengl-y things, like call glutSwapBuffers() at the end of your function.

If you add this code to your main() function, after the ofSetupOpenGL call

win_h = glutGetWindow();   
	other_win_h = glutCreateWindow("Other window");  
	glutDisplayFunc(render_other_window);  
	glutSetWindow(win_h);  

and then create a render function for the second window:

void render_other_window()  
{  
    glutSetWindow(other_win_h);  // have to tell glut which window you are rendering  
   glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); // OF usually does this for you.  
   // render code....  
   glutSwapBuffers();  
   glutSetWindow(win_h);  
}  

You should be in business. Check out the glut docs for more info.

Kevin

P.S. with a bit of thought, it might be possible to derive a class from SimpleApp that supports multiple windows (as opposed to doing surgery on the OF code base)