Measure rate of change (Mouse movement speed)

I have been following ofBook, I am new to statistics. In one of the book chapters “Drawing Brushes” it was proposed for the reader to write a code that handles drawing of shapes differently based on mouse movment speed.

What I don’t understand is how to calculate mouse move speed. I can measure change from previous to next bu comparing in ofVec2f but then I only have 1 value of the speed, how do I measure tendency. Could someone give me a simple iteration example of how to collect these values and measure them for realtime implementation.

Hey @opensourceartist,

A simple approach would be to calculate the distance between two mouse positions (current and previous) at some regular interval (like every 10th frame). A few if-else statements could then select the type of shape to draw based on the distance (or its abs value), including an option not to draw any shape (because the mouse hadn’t moved very much).

oF applications tend to run at 60ish frames per second on many platforms. So the sampling frequency can be every frame, or some other interval. An easy way to define a longer or variable sampling intervale is to execute certain code when the modulus is zero for ofGetFrameNum() with a value:

// in ofApp::update()
int value = 10; // this could be a class variable defined in ofApp.h
if(ofGetFrameNum() % value == 0) { // calculate mouse distance and update the int that determines the shape to draw;}

@TimChi Thank you for your suggestion! Although I already had comparing previous with next, the framerate aspect was very helpful. But what I need is not to compare previous and next but I need to compare a few values in order to get the second order differential (acceleration).

Any value in the current frame can be stored in a variable for use in a later frame(s). So maybe you need two variables to store previous values: 1 for the previous position and 1 for the previous acceleration (or change in position).